Glimpses of History

It has been more than 3 years since my father has passed away, and things are still hard.

A few days back, I was on my way home, sitting on the passenger seat with my mind wandering off wildly. I was thinking of a million things, one after another, that it was just like I wasn’t thinking of anything. I don’t know triggered me, but I started remembering this one particular memory of my dad.

I was in elementary school and my dad got us a new computer. He was also really eager to learn for himself, he started writing a lot in Microsoft Word, figuring out how to make indents (which he did with lots of spaces), and printing on envelopes. It wasn’t a special memory, and it didn’t have any emotion to it. It wasn’t happy, nor it was sad. It’s merely a piece of memory, which I was very glad to recall.

Then I had this realization. I had this fear that if I don’t keep remembering, I’m going to forget these little pieces of memory, until one day, I will barely remember him at all. I will forget how he talks, how he moves, how he smells, how once he was always around.

I. don’t. want. to. forget.

That’s why I’m writing this down. One day I’m going to re-read this and this memory will not be lost. Please, let me remember.

Leave a Reply

